The Gap



To fly.
A childhood fantasy fulfilled, a lifelong goal accomplished.
Fresh from rotary-wing flight school, 22-year-old Lieutenant Mark Ashford arrives for his first duty assignment at Fort Indiantown Gap, Pennsylvania, wanting nothing more than to master the art of flight. But he learns quickly that he’s in the awkward position of overseeing pilots with vastly superior skills and experience. Mark is persistently thwarted by one of these men―Vietnam veteran Nick Trent―who displays no regard for authority or convention, or even for Mark’s own personal safety.
Resolved to learn more about his belligerent subordinate, Mark uncovers a decades-old secret from the Vietnam War―a brutal helicopter assault on innocent villagers. At the same time, he is tasked with supporting the DEA with aerial reconnaissance in search of a hidden cache of marijuana. Mark befriends a 16-year-old boy conscripted by the growers into the illicit venture. As he struggles to prevent the boy from drifting deeper into the crevices of the drug world, Mark is torn by his conflicting allegiances and risks his dream of becoming a master pilot.
THE GAP is a coming-of-age story that poses questions about the wisdom of the current drug war while employing themes from another lost war.

Detalles del Libro

ISBN/13: 9788417102265

Num. Páginas: 518

Tamaño: 152 X 228 mm

Encuadernación: Tapa blanda

Año de publicación: 2019

Editorial: Pentian

Categoría: Ficción de la guerra de Vietnam

John Witherow (Autor)

The author is a former platoon leader and helicopter pilot of the Pennsylvania Army National Guard and an attorney sensitive to the challenges of the American criminal justice system. THE GAP was conceived as a homage to the veteran pilots at Fort Indiantown Gap ― they may seem rather crusty in the first pages, but things are always more complicated than they may seem.

Alayna Witherow ()

William Anderson ()

Cait McAllister ()

Cari Witherow ()

Cathy Smyth ()

Christina Suran ()

Dean Phillips ()

Dustin Perrin ()

Ella McAllister ()

Frederick Faett ()

Geoff Moulton ()

Jairo Marino ()

Jeffrey Helm ()

John Hare ()

Leonard Gordon ()

Michael Fisher ()

Michael Bramnick ()


Peter Stein ()

Robert Bein ()

Sandra C Boylan ()

Seth Witherow ()

Wendi Witherow ()

Wendy Vlahos ()

Brian Ashe ()

Frederick Ulrich ()

Menciones en prensa y otros enlaces:

The Forgotten Fiction
Book Review



Utilizamos cookies propias y de terceros para *recopilar información estadística del uso de nuestra página web. Si continua navegando, consideramos que acepta su uso. Puede cambiar la configuración u obtener más información aquí. X Cerrar